Skip to content

Very Beautiful Women: Frank Hinton & Ofelia Hunt.

December 17, 2011 \am\31 10:00 am

[This week I’m posting lovely disparate somethings by the female writers featured in Pangur Ban Party’s multimedia e-book, Very Beautiful Women, of which I was a grateful tiny part. Happy 3rd birthday, Pangur Ban Party! —Ani]

Re: Ofelia Hunt’s HORRORCORE BEAUTYQUEEN
by Frank Hinton

When I read Ofelia I often stop, usually mid-paragraph and open a word document and start to write. Her form is addictive. I see the mind creatures, the crawl from neuron to finger tip to print, the grit passed through filter. I’m fucking jealous. I have entire stories prompted by a single sentence of hers.

“Fuck me,” I typed out after the first paragraph of Horrorcore Beautyqueen. I want to strike an image like that, swift and dirty and quick: A tub full of she-debris, it’s right there in glory, hard and clear. Fuck me. She tumbles fucking rocks here.

Every sentence dirties the image, the absurd becomes realistic; I’m there with the shovel, my life is toenails and lashes and bloodstains on skin. Fuck me. The thing is, this stuff should be sad. It should be almost pathetic but it’s not. It’s funny and it’s vibrating. The story moves on an escalating path and what should disturb instead delights.

Ofelia’s dialogue is funny.
“Fucking perfecto.”
Has that ever been uttered in dialogue before?
Why didn’t I think of that?
I have Ofelia envy.

The story revolves around filth, and maybe some landlord I instinctively fear. She hammers images over and over into your skull. You get the bad feeling of a toenail in your mouth, the taste of eyelashes, mud caking your gums, impossible filthiness. No one seems perturbed.

I want to get dirty with Ofelia Hunt. I would trib the shit out of her.
Fuck me.
This is writing.

3 Comments
  1. December 17, 2011 \am\31 11:46 am 11:46 am

    I just learned what ‘trib’ means, via urbandictionary with a brief layover at google. Thanks dudes. Fucking perfecto.

  2. December 17, 2011 \pm\31 7:33 pm 7:33 pm

    Fuck me! This is how author reviews should be written.

    • December 18, 2011 \am\31 11:52 am 11:52 am

      agree, this was a great conTRIBution

Comments are closed.

