Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @spencermadsen.

January 10, 2012 \pm\31 12:00 pm

[In which WWAATD finds out the Twitter philosophies of some lovely Twitter people.]

Twitter username: @spencermadsen
Real name: Spencer Madsen
Recent memorable tweet: sometimes i log on to okcupid with the willful intent of an athlete telling his team “let’s fuckin win it, im not taking no for an answer.”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I think I tweet between 1-35 times a day, depending on how bad I feel. I don’t limit myself to a number of tweets per day and haven’t thought in terms of ‘tweets per day’ until now, I think. Early on when I was beginning to tweet consistently, one of the people who I would interact with was Poncho Peligroso. I liked when he would tweet fifteen or twenty times consecutively. I referred to this as a “lonely bender” once. I like reading lonely benders. If I’m up at three or four in the morning and feel a special kind of despair, I will force myself to tweet multiple times in rapid succession. These are my favorite tweets. They feel like little bubbles of despair.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I didn’t understand for a long time that people feel hurt when you unfollow them. At one point I was following a lot more people than I am now, but I condensed my following to people who tweet things that I like often, or just interact with me a lot.

I don’t follow any ex girlfriends, because they aren’t on twitter, at least to my knowledge, but now that you mention it I will probably spend tonight trying to find out. Currently I don’t follow any lit mags, but I do follow the editors of magazines that I like. Celebrities that I currently follow include 50 cent and lil b.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I don’t @ people often. I rarely use twitter as a form of direct, public communication. If I want to tell somebody something through twitter, most of the time I use DM. The reason for this is that I don’t like reading one-sided conversations when I visit other people’s twitter pages. I like to see what they tweet.

It makes me anxious though, because when people @ me and I don’t reply, I worry that they think I’m ignoring them, or that I don’t like what they said. It’s almost always the case that I don’t know what to say other than “lol, yeah” which feels silly to tweet at someone.

I guess I just want my twitter account to be content.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I used to use hashtags a lot more than I do now. I liked to add them to indicate self-awareness. If I wanted to say something that might seem self-important I would add #killme at the end, for instance, to indicate that I know I’m being a bit of a fuck.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I don’t think I obsess about these things. Though maybe objectively I do. Maybe. Maybe I do. I don’t know. I like when people I like follow me, and favorite and retweet my tweets. It feels nice to know there are people who think similar thoughts.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I think certain people find me easy to relate to. I like it because if they can relate to me then I can relate to them and the potential for friendship is formed.

I would like to come across accurately. I would like my tweets to be representational of my actual thoughts and perceptions, that way any relationships that are built through twitter are truthful ones, and not disappointing to the other person.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

I think I want myself to be remembered by my twitter account. I think if I died I would want my twitter account to be something that ‘lives on’ as something people can refer back to, and as a result, not forget me.

I am not afraid of the public permanence of my twitter account, I am excited by it. If I put the private things I think about on a daily basis out on the internet, I am making myself more vulnerable to being judged, but also more accessible to others who perceive things in a manner similar to me. I think if someone read my tweets for a while and then met me, we would be on a better footing than we would otherwise.

In my ideal world, people could skip the trials and errors of ‘getting to know each other’ if they just read each others’ tweets.

Friendships/relationships could be better informed from the start, and there wouldn’t be confusion when people really get to know each other and their anxieties.

It seems like everyone has the same insecurities: vanity, feelings of inadequacy, hopelessness, issues of identity, and the rest. If we all talked about these really human issues, then people would feel less alienated and generally happier in society. I think twitter is a good forum for people to express these insecurities, in a way that’s satisfying. 140 characters to say something human, send it out into the public domain, and move on with your day.

Comments are closed.

