Skip to content

Long-overdue book report: Sightseer by Cynthia Marie Hoffman.

January 23, 2012 \pm\31 5:23 pm

Procrastinator’s note: This “book report” is the first on some books that were sent to me shortly after AWP last year. I’d raised my hand and said “sure, I’ll blog about them” and then guess what? I didn’t. I’m not going to make excuses. Sometimes life is what it is and you don’t always get to things when you say you will. But dammit! I’m gonna get all these mentioned before this year’s AWP rolls around. Even though I’ve never been and I’m not going this year. My apologies to these authors.

These will be no particular order. I’m just pulling them off my shelf. They’ll all be short and sweet. And first up is…

Sightseer

Poems by Cynthia Marie Hoffman. Winner of the 2010 Lexi Rudnitsky First Book Prize in Poetry. Persea Books.  I knew I’d like this as soon as I opened it up to the first poem,Dear Fluorescent Pink Jumbo Finger Starfish,”  about our love of souvenirs. A travel journal in poetry, I enjoyed this even though I’ve never been to any of these places. Always meant to look them up online, but didn’t. A nice book.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Sightseer “Book Report” | Cynthia Marie Hoffman

Comments are closed.

