Skip to content

We who are about to tweet: @lisamariebasile.

January 31, 2012 \pm\31 12:58 pm

[In which WWAATD finds out the Twitter philosophies of some lovely Twitter people.]

Twitter username: @lisamariebasile
Real name: Lisa Marie Basile
Recent memorable tweet: “Have you guys heard of this World Wide Web, or what?”

How often do you tweet? Do you limit yourself to a number of tweets per day, or to a certain time of day? Any other OCD-like tweeting tendencies?

I tweet up to 10x a week, sometimes way more. Sometimes I get super nerdy and tweet a lot about random things like TV shows (like Tim and Eric or whatever show I’m obsessing on). Most  of the time I promote my favorite writers or my work. I think Twitter is a great tool for writers and small presses. Sometimes I check ‘Klout,’ which is a site that measures your influence via Twitter or Facebook, and see what sort of reach you have. I don’t pay much attention.

What is your ‘follow’ philosophy? Do you follow everyone who follows you? Do you follow celebrities, lit mags, ex-boyfriends?

I keep my Twitter relatively writing-oriented: presses, journals, writers. I do not follow everyone who follows me; I only follow people I really believe share interesting content. I mean, I’m more interested in links about writing or poems or whatever book than I am about what foods someone ate or where they are at that given moment. I have an awful habit of reading celebrity Twitter accounts though, even if I don’t follow them. I swear I’ve read the entire Katy Perry or Edgar Wright or Elijah Wood Twitter history. It’s terrible. And so random.

What is your @ philosophy? Do you tweet people back, engage in ‘chit chat,’ become annoyed when others do?

I definitely am game for whatever happens on Twitter. I say the more fun we have with it, the better. I love being looped into weird Twitter conversations. Most of the time, I learn something new or do that whole ‘Follow Friday’ thing.

What is your #hashtag philosophy?

I just figured it out, but I sort of think it’s interesting that world itself sort of creates a ‘file cabinet’ if you will, of information on any given topic. I don’t participate with it much, but when I do, I think it’s great to search a worldwide theme.  So, if I search #poems at any given time, it’s nice to see what’s going on the world.  The world creates a conversation, and that’s powerful.

Do you obsess about number of: followers / retweets / favorites / unfollows / other?

I totally check Retweets, but I don’t let Twitter rule my life. Now, Google Analytics…that’s something else.

How do you think you come across to your followers? How would you like to come across?

I’d like to come across as someone with passion about poetry and publishing, and not just someone promoting a bunch of stuff without any personality.

What do you want people to remember about your Twitter account?

That it’s not the be-all and end-all of me, but a storage of random information. Twitter functions as a history diary of who we are, and we’ll see that in many years.

Comments are closed.

