Skip to content

Toe-sniffing fetishist with a library card: An interview with Jereme Dean.

March 19, 2012 \pm\31 2:30 pm

Your book of poetry is forthcoming, originally from Artistically Declined Press, in fact, it should have been out already. What kinds of poems will these be and why, and why are you making me wait? It’s not nice, I suffer mild anxiety.

Yeah, I have a poetry book coming out.  It was written during a period of internalized isolation.

Writing is like finding your asshole with a mirror.  & publishing is the prostitution of that asshole.  I’m not one to walk the streets, but I’ll show the brown ruby if asked.

Paula Bomer and Ryan Bradley were behind Artistically Declined Press, but the two split.  Now Ryan runs ADP and Paula is doing her own thing with Sententia Books.  I’d like to think my work is welcome at both publishers, but original solicitation came from Paula, and I’m sticking with her.

She’s the reason there is a book.

Another cause of delay is the work doesn’t feel ready to me.  So it sits until it gleams.

You have often said that you don’t like being called a ‘poet’ or a ‘writer’ — can you explain your stance on these terms, why do these seem to you like bad things to be called and what do you consider yourself, like what would we call you if we wanted to talk about you in relation to the things you write?

Poet and Writer share traits but I think a distinction can be made in terms of foundation.  A writer willingly wastes years in training, while a poet is conditioned by life.

I imagine ‘poet’ as a toddler with amputated hands screaming at an unopened can of play-dough.

I imagine ‘writer’ as Hitler’s discarded Furby.

I’m definitely not a writer.

I did get annoyed at people for calling me poet in the past. But Hollywood changed my value system.  Dancing with a Belizean transsexual at 4 a.m. while weird on ecstasy provides many epiphanies.  One of which is that a self-made definition is the only definition worth caring about.

I believe in my reality.  So, yes, I am a “poet” but not like the popular definition of the word, or any definition of the word.  I’m me.

In my mind, you have been around for a long time. When and why did you start blogging or looking at lit things online, and how did you find HTML Giant [related: my favorite HTML Giant days were at the beginning when you and Sam Pink were contributors] and/or the ‘indie lit scene’ (if it’s okay with you that we call it that) and everyone and everything?

My internet presence started in 1993 as a young hacker.  I went by the handle Dr. Hate.  Some of the bullshit I wrote in those days can still be found on the internet.  I’ve been in the lit scene since 2007.

Which is to say I’ve been around enough to determine the major players and designate judgments against them.  Most writers are cowards.

I started blogging because I felt suicidal.

Then I found Blake [Butler]’s blog. He’s an asshole with a heart, which helped me feel less alone.

Blake solicited me for HTMLG. I think mostly because the current chickenshit contributors were afraid to write on ‘Mean Tuesdays’.  But I’m not really sure why he asked.

Young HTMLG was better than most places on the internet.  I think my favorite moment was Jimmy Chen writing an article with the title FUCK YOU JEREME DEAN.

Now, it’s a planned community of coddled MFA kids.  Occasionally, I comment on an article.  The place is so watered down and safe now.  I dunno.  It makes me feel ill.

This is definitely a scene.

What kinds of writing are you most attracted to, do you find yourself going back to a certain kind of thing? I know you’ve mentioned difficulties reading due to problems with your vision. What are those problems exactly, and do you think that that limits you in some way? how do you deal?

Writing I prefer resembles the thought process of a toe-sniffing fetishist with a library card.  I also enjoy any writing resembling a penis-shaped heart.

My vision suffers from undiagnosed corneal ulcers.  I am legally blind, but can see slightly better out of my left eye, which is my ‘reading’ eye.  Doctors have no illustration of my sickness in their precious book.  In time, my eyes will completely fail.

Mysterious ailments, symptoms and near-death experiences have plagued me since the age of 18.  I just don’t talk about it much.

I manage.

What do you really always want people to know about you? (Me I always want people to know that I give second chances and good head (I swear I do, I know girls always say that but — SWEAR).)

(Sugarbird, I don’t doubt your cock suckling abilities.)

I believe in true love.  I ask people I meet, especially women, if they believe in it.  Usually they respond with a curt or frivolous answer, but say they do believe.  Then I ask what their definition of love is.

A clear definition has eluded every person thus far, and none have responded with a self-made declaration.

I’ve spent hundreds of hours contemplating love.  Death is the only thing I’ve thought about more.

I know what love is.  I believe in it.

5 Comments
  1. Scott McClanahan permalink
    March 19, 2012 \pm\31 3:36 pm 3:36 pm

    This is the best interview in ages.

  2. March 22, 2012 \pm\31 10:41 pm 10:41 pm

    great shit jereme.

  3. Jereme permalink
    March 23, 2012 \am\31 12:01 am 12:01 am

    Thanks guys. I appreciate the support.

  4. elizabeth ellen permalink
    April 3, 2012 \pm\30 10:22 pm 10:22 pm

    the truth, as only jereme speaks it.

  5. Donora Hillard permalink
    April 8, 2012 \pm\30 7:19 pm 7:19 pm

    Jereme saved my life a buncha times over the past weeks, even if he didn’t realize it, and here here here are just some of the reasons why.

Comments are closed.

