Skip to content

We Who Are About to Weekend: Volume 5

September 28, 2012 \am\30 10:31 am

This has been the week of the lonely lettuce. Somewhere between the exuberant melancholy of Kenneth Patchen’s “O shattering gentleness!” and the staggering spiritual desire of George Bataille’s life-wound in which “Everything real fractures and cracks,” I stood in my local Winn Dixie, staring at this head of lettuce, enveloped in the Inexplicable.

Andy Fitch interviews Caryl Pagel whose Experiments I Should Like Tried at My Own Death is recently out from Factory Hollow.

There is a new issue of Phantom Limb with good things written by Adam Fell, Virginia Konchan, Rebecca Farivar, Angela Veronica Wong, and more. Also an interview with Dorothea Lasky: “But if I am confessional about anything in my work, it is about my own spiritual struggles. And do I think it is important for everyone to consider their relationship to faith and religion? Not necessarily. But I think everyone will have to eventually consider it, so they may as well get started now. I guess that may mean that I do think it is important.”

I believe in the title of this book.

New Matt Hart poem at Leveler: “How / wonderful to run / all the colors together / in holy dissonance”

An interview with Dana Ward: “I see hummingbirds back here sometimes.”

Know more about the awesomeness of Bianca Stone at the Poetry Foundation.

This Zachary Pace poem is worth spending 39 seconds with.

“Lecture series on Aesthetics and the Philosophy of Art delivered by James Grant. The first part of the series focuses on some of the most important writings on art and beauty in the Western philosophical tradition, covering Plato, Aristotle, David Hume, and Immanuel Kant. The second part of the series focuses on questions about understanding works of art and about the nature of art. This part examines the interpretation of literature, the expression of emotion in music, and the definition of art.” (via Christopher Higgs)

I’ve been watching a documentary almost every day on Netflix. They are good for being a person: Nostalgia for the Light, Happy, Buck, Jiro Dreams of Sushi, and Herb & Dorothy.

There are a lot of ways to touch the darkness:

Comments are closed.

